Deutsch

SIS: Fundraising campaign for international students in need

Our international students are particularly hard hit by the economic consequences of the coronavirus crisis. Many of them have lost the part-time jobs they needed to earn a living, while social distancing rules have transformed more than just their social lives.

German students are often entitled to BAföG and social benefits from the state. But for many international students, the costs of rent, health insurance, semester fees, public service broadcasting fees and teaching materials are now becoming an insurmountable obstacle to continuing their studies. The fundraising campaign for international students in need, otherwise known as SIS, aims to offer quick and non-bureaucratic help to those affected. It was instituted by the Rector of Leipzig University, Professor Beate A. Schücking, together with the association and the rectors of the three other large publicly funded higher education institutions in Leipzig.

Sebastian Gemkow, Saxon State Minister for Science, alumnus of Leipzig University and committed resident and politician of the city of Leipzig, is the patron of the fundraising campaign.

Photo: privat

“International students and academics have traditionally not only been a boon to research and teaching; for centuries, they have also contributed to an outward-looking, vibrant and diverse city of Leipzig, helping shape the cultural and intellectual life of the city. And we don’t want this to change! This is why I am happy to support the fundraising campaign initiated by my alma mater for international students in need.”

Sebastian Gemkow

Photo: Swen Reichold

“It is important that Leipzig and Leipzig University remain international and diverse during, after and despite the coronavirus. This is our common goal. It is my great hope that we can provide international students with the help they need!”

Beate Schücking

Photo: Tom Schulze

“Leipzig University of Applied Sciences is participating in the fundraising campaign because we believe that this group of students should not be forgotten, especially now. More than 800 international students from 66 countries are enrolled at our university. With the diversity of nations and cultures, they enrich life on campus as well as our city and the regional companies, which many of them work for alongside their studies.”

Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Mark Mietzner

To get the ball rolling, the association Universitätsstiftung Leipzig e.V. is donating 10,000 euros to the campaign.

Please help us!

  • By making a symbolic donation of 500 euros, you can sponsor a young person from abroad to help them continue their studies and stay in Leipzig.
  • Every donation counts! Partial sponsorships (250, 100, 50, 10 euros, or other amounts) are also welcome.

You can donate here.

Application for financial assistance for foreign students

Application form

FAQs

  1. Information about the selection process
    Together with its partners, the association will conduct a transparent application and allocation procedure to decide how to distribute the donations to international students in need.
  2. Who will receive support?
    Support is available for international students who have got into financial difficulties due to the coronavirus crisis and are no longer able to cover their costs unaided. Generally speaking, individuals can receive up to 500 euros.
  3. How do I apply?
    The application form explains what documents you will need to submit.
  4. Where do I submit my application?
    Please submit the application form together with the listed documents as a PDF file to the institution responsible for you.
  5. Why is this support open to international students only?
    International students are particularly affected by the consequences of the coronavirus crisis. Most international students face financial difficulties anyway. This situation can worsen dramatically if they lose their source of income or if they suddenly have to pay unexpected costs. Many of them are now socially isolated, receive no support from their home countries and are not entitled to BAföG.

News

Current donation total: 49,305 euros


Press release "40,000 Euros Raised"

So far, the initiative has sponsored 101 international students. They come from Afghanistan, Albania, Armenia, Bangladesh, Brazil, Chile,Colombia, Cuba, Egypt, Georgia, Great Britain, Hungary, India, Iran, Iraq, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Libya, Morocco, Nepal, Paraguay, Peru, Poland, Russia, Serbia, Sri Lanka, Syria, Tajikistan, Thailand, Turkey, Ukraine, US and Vietnam.

The recipients of the funding are students at Leipzig University, Leipzig University of Applied Sciences (HTWK), the Academy of Music and Theatre (HMT) and HfTL. Their fields of study include african studies, american studies, arabic studies, architecture, art history, biology, biotechnology, dentistry, digital humanities, economy, education, environmental engineering, european studies, german studies, german as foreign language, global studies, industrial engineering, information and communication technology, international management, islamic studies, law, mechanical engineering, music, philosophy, pharmacy, physics, piano, political science, romance studies, singing, sport science, theater studies, veterinary medicine.

(Last updated: September, 23, 2020)

What the sponsors say:

“I have long felt closely connected to the cultural centre and student city of Leipzig, especially to its highly respected university. I see the promotion of academia and education, culture and international understanding as an investment in the future. The fundraising campaign unites these goals, so I am very happy to be involved.” Dr Arend Oetker, Managing Partner of Dr. Arend Oetker Holding and Honorary Member of the “Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft e.V.”, former member of Leipzig University’s 2009 Anniversary Advisory Board

“Our association has been successfully supporting young people from Leipzig and abroad for many years. We are very happy to support the SIS campaign, because we feel very strongly about integrating these young people into our society.”
Professor Johannes Seeger, Faculty of Veterinary Medicine and Chairman of the Lions Club association “Leipziger Ring e.V.”

What the recipients say:

“Thank you so much for your support! Please know that this support is very helpful for me during this time. Now that half of the semester is already over and many exams are on the horizon, I can worry less about money and concentrate better on my studies and preparing for the exams. I truly appreciate every contribution in this difficult situation.”

“I am very happy to live in a country that cares about its international students. I would like to thank you for processing my application so quickly and for having already transferred the money to me. It means my costs are covered for this month, letting me concentrate better on my studies. Since many students are currently unemployed, any amount is helpful.”

“This is the greatest gift for me and for all the students for whom each cent is very important to continue their studies and get a decent education. Thank you and your association for such important help. I hope many more students will be given this happiness.”

english

Spendenaktion für in Not geratene internationale Studierende

Besonders unsere Studierenden aus dem Ausland sind aktuell von den wirtschaftlichen Folgen der Coronavirus-Krise hart betroffen. Nebenjobs zur Finanzierung ihres Lebensunterhaltes sind weggefallen, Kontaktbeschränkungen haben nicht nur das soziale Leben grundlegend verändert.

Deutsche Studierende haben oftmals Anspruch auf BAföG und Sozialleistungen des Staates. Doch für viele internationale Studierende wird die Zahlung von Mieten, Krankenversicherungen, Semestergebühren, Rundfunkbeiträgen und Lehrmaterialien nun zu einer unüberbrückbaren Hürde für die Fortsetzung des Studiums. Die von der Rektorin der Universität Leipzig, Prof. Dr. Beate A. Schücking, gemeinsam mit dem Verein und den Rektoren der drei anderen großen staatlichen Hochschulen in Leipzig initiierte Spendenaktion für in Not geratene internationale Studierende, kurz SIS, möchte Betroffenen rasch und unbürokratisch helfen.

Sebastian Gemkow, Sächsischer Staatsminister für Wissenschaft, Alumnus der Universität und engagierter Einwohner und Politiker der Stadt Leipzig, hat die Schirmherrschaft über die Spendenaktion übernommen.

Foto: privat

„Internationale Studierende und Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler bereichern traditionell nicht nur Forschung und Lehre; sie tragen seit Jahrhunderten auch zu einer weltoffenen, bunten und diversen Stadt Leipzig bei und bestimmen das kulturelle und geistige Leben der Stadt mit. So soll es auch bleiben! Darum setzte ich mich gern für die von meiner Alma mater initiierten Spendenaktion für in Not geratene internationale Studierende ein.“

Sebastian Gemkow

Foto: Swen Reichold

„Leipzig und die Universität sollen international bleiben - trotz, während und nach Corona. Das ist unser gemeinsames Ziel. Mir ist diese Hilfe wirklich eine Herzensangelegenheit!“

Beate Schücking

Foto: Tom Schulze

„Die HTWK Leipzig beteiligt sich an der Spendenaktion, weil wir finden, dass diese Gruppe von Studierenden auch und gerade jetzt nicht vergessen werden darf. An unserer Hochschule sind mehr als 800 internationale Studierende aus 66 Ländern immatrikuliert. Mit der Vielfalt an Nationen und Kulturen bereichern sie nicht nur das Leben an der Hochschule, sondern auch unsere Stadt und die regionalen Unternehmen, für die viele von ihnen neben dem Studium arbeiten.“

Prof. Dr. rer. pol. Mark Mietzner

Mit 10.000 Euro legt die Universitätsstiftung Leipzig e.V. einen Grundstock für die Spendenaktion.

Bitte helfen Sie uns!

  • Mit einer Spende von 500 EURO als symbolische Patenschaft unterstützen Sie einen jungen Menschen aus dem Ausland bei der Weiterführung des Studiums und des Aufenthaltes in Leipzig.
  • Jeder Beitrag zählt! Möglich sind auch gestaffelte Beteiligungen an einer symbolischen Patenschaft (250, 100, 50, 10 Euro oder freie Beträge).

Hier können Sie spenden.

Antrag auf Beihilfe für ausländische Studierende

Antragsformular

Häufig gestellte Fragen

  1. Hinweise zum Auswahlprozess
    Der Verein entscheidet gemeinsam mit den aufgeführten Kontaktstellen in einem transparenten Bewerbungs- und Vergabeverfahren die Mittelverteilung an die bedürftigen internationalen Studierenden.
  2. Wer wird gefördert?
    Gefördert werden internationale Studierende die durch die Coronakrise in eine finanzielle Notlage geraten sind und anfallende Kosten ohne Unterstützung nicht mehr zahlen können. Im Regelfall werden bis zu 500 Euro bewilligt.
  3. Welche Antragsunterlagen muss ich einreichen?
    Die einzureichenden Unterlagen entnehmen Sie bitte dem Antragsformular.
  4. Wo reiche ich die Unterlagen ein?
    Das Antragsformular reichen Sie bitte mit den aufgeführten Unterlagen als eine PDF-Datei bei der jeweiligen für Sie zuständigen Kontaktstelle ein.
  5. Warum werden explizit internationale Studierende gefördert?
    Internationale Studierende sind durch die Folgen des Coronavirus besonders betroffen. Die materielle Situation der meisten internationalen Studierenden ist permanent schwierig. Sie verschlechtert sich dramatisch, wenn eingeplante Mittel ausbleiben oder plötzlich unvorhergesehene Kosten zu bestreiten sind. Viele von Ihnen sind jetzt sozial isoliert, erhalten keine Unterstützung aus ihren Heimatländern bzw. haben keinen Anspruch auf BAföG.

Aktuelles

Aktueller Spendenstand: 54.505 €  


Pressemitteilung "Spendenaktion für in Not geratene internationale Studierende bringt bislang über 40.000 Euro"

Bisher sind 109 internationale Studierende gefördert worden, es wurden 49.000 Euro an die Studierenden ausbezahlt. Sie kommen aus Ägypten, Afghanistan, Albanien, Armenien, Bangladesch, Brasilien, Chile, China, Georgien, Großbritannien, Indien, Iran, Italien, Japan, Jemen, Jordanien, Kanada, Kasachstan, Kirgisistan, Kolumbien, Kuba, Libyen, Madagaskar, Marokko, Nepal, Paraguay, Peru, Polen, Russland, Serbien, Sri Lanka, Syrien, Tadschikistan, Thailand, Türkei, Ukraine, Ungarn, USA und Vietnam. 

Die Geförderten sind Studierende der Universität, der Hochschule für Technik, Wirtschaft und Kultur Leipzig (HTWK), der Hochschule für Musik und Theater und der Hochschule für Telekommunikation und studieren u.a. Afrikanistik, Amerikanistik, Arabistik, Architektur, Biologie, Biotechnologie, Buchhandel, Chemie,Deutsch als Fremd- oder Zweitsprache, Digital Humanities, Energie- und Gebäudetechnik, European Studies, Germanistik, Gesang, Global Studies, Humanmedizin, Informatik,  Informations- und Kommunikationstechnik, Internationales Management, Islamwissenschaften, Jura, Kommunikations- und Medienwissenschaften, Konferenzdolmetschen, Kulturwissenschaften, Kunstgeschichte, Kunstpädagogik, Maschinenbau, Musikwissenschaften, Pädagogik, Pharmazie, Philosophie, Physik, Piano, Politikwissenschaften, Romanistik,  Sportwissenschaften, Theaterwissenschaften, Tiermedizin,Umwelttechnik,  Wirtschaftsingenieurwesen, Wirtschaftswissenschaften und Zahnmedizin.

(Stand: 26. November 2020)

Das sagen die Förderer:

„Schon lange fühle ich mich der Kultur- und Studentenstadt Leipzig und insbesondere der traditionsreichen Universität eng verbunden. Die Förderung von Wissenschaft und Bildung, Kultur und Völkerverständigung verstehe ich als eine Investition in die Zukunft. Die Spendenaktion vereint diese Ziele, deshalb engagiere ich mich sehr gern.“
Dr. Arend Oetker, Geschäftsführender Gesellschafter der Dr. Arend Oetker Holding und Ehrenmitglied des Stifterverbandes für die Deutsche Wissenschaft e.V.", ehemaliges Mitglied im Jubiläumsbeirat 2009 der Universität Leipzig

„Unser Verein engagiert sich seit vielen Jahren erfolgreich für Jugendliche aus Leipzig und aus dem Ausland. Wir unterstützen die SIS-Aktion sehr gern, denn die Integration dieser jungen Leute in unsere Gesellschaft ist uns sehr wichtig.“
Prof. Dr. Johannes Seeger, Veterinärmedizinische Fakultät und Vorsitzender Förderverein des Lions Clubs „Leipziger Ring e. V.“

Das sagen die Geförderten:

„Ich bedanke mich sehr für eure Unterstützung und möchte sagen, dass diese Förderung für mich in dieser Zeit sehr hilfreich ist. Da jetzt schon die Hälfte des Semesters vorbei ist und viele Prüfungen vor uns stehen, kann ich mir weniger Gedanken um das Geld machen und mich besser auf das Studium konzentrieren und auf die Prüfungen vorbereiten. In dieser schwierigen Situation wird jeder Beitrag als große Hilfe sein.“

„Ich bin sehr froh, dass ich in einem Land, das sich um ausländische Studierenden sorgt, lebe. Ich danke Ihnen, dass Sie meinen Antrag rechtzeitig bearbeitet und das Geld schon an mich überwiesen haben. Mit diesem Betrag kann ich meine Kosten für diesen Monat sichern und mich besser auf das Studium konzentrieren. Da viele Studierenden aktuell arbeitslos sind, ist jeder Betrag hilfreich.“

“Das ist ein großes Geschenk für mich und alle Studierenden, bei denen jeder Cent wichtig ist, um das Studium fortzusetzen und eine solide Ausbildung zu erlangen. Danke an Sie und den Verein für diese wichtige Hilfe. Ich hoffe sehr, dass noch vielen weiteren Studierenden dieses Glück vergönnt ist.“